Cooking in College: Swedish Meatballs with Creamy Pasta

With the Ikea market, you can bring their legendary Swedish meatballs straight into your own kitchen! Here’s how:

Sooo living with my boyfriend and his three roommates for the past three weeks has been interesting, to say the least. Contrary to popular opinion, I am so ready to move out. Living with S has been great, but I’m ready to have my own space.

Because I am with 4 20 year olds all of the time, I needed to get creative in the kitchen – which, by the way, I have never done. First, I whipped up some peanut butter thumbprint cookies for the guys to have as a quick snack. Long story short, the cookies looked like boobs, the guys loved them, and I ended up making 60 total. The boob cookies were a major hit in a houseful of stupid college boys! Who knew?!

I have a confession to make. I’m addicted to Ikea. For those of you who don’t know what Ikea is, 1. you’re living a life that is not yet complete and 2. watch this video. Although this isn’t an explanatory video, you’ll get an idea of what the store is all about. Sustainability, DIY, simple, modern, and more.

What some may not know about Ikea is that it has FOOD section. Yes. FOOD! SWEDISH FOOD!

S needed some more pillows, because a bed with 4 on them is just not enough, so I decided to go a couple of stoplights over from UNCC campus and venture into Ikea for the first time by myself. It ROCKED. I got the pillows for $3.00. THREE DOLLARS! And pillowcases to match for $5 (pack of 2). I went over to the Ikea market and picked up a family pack of their meatballs with 2 packets of their cream sauce to combine with some pasta and fresh broccoli. 

Swedish Meatballs with Creamy Pasta + Broccoli

Here’s how I did it:

To make this dish, you’ll need:

  • 1 bag Ikea meatballs
  • 2 packets cream sauce
  • 2 boxes linguini pasta (whole wheat or not, your preference)
    • If 2 boxes is too much, that’s fine! However, still use the 2 packets of cream sauce.
  • 1 bag freshly steamed broccoli

1. Follow the instructions on the back of the bag to cook the meatballs.

2. Same with the sauce packets – remember to double the ingredients if you’re putting both packets into one pot.

3. Set the noodles to boil. Add some olive oil to avoid sticking.

4. After the meatballs are done, the sauce is set to simmer, and the pasta is finishing up, throw the bag of broccoli into the microwave and follow the instructions. I microwaved the bag for 5 minutes. Not using a steam bag? That’s okay!

5. Strain noodles. Mix meatballs with pasta. Pour cream sauce over the combo, and top the dish with broccoli.

Not too bad, huh? The total price? $12 to make this dish. Total time? 15 minutes.

This is definitely a go-to dish if you’re cooking for a lot of people – even more so if those people are college boys.

Screen Shot 2014-12-21 at 12.54.12 PM

Leave a Reply

