8 is great

july

Well, tomorrow marks 8 months with the goob. I thought I would do a little timeline, in case you aren’t tired of hearing about him yet…( and S, if you’re reading this, please don’t kill me).

So on May 30th, I saw this cute boy at a barn and the first thing I told him was that I shadowed a midwife.

That freakin’ came out of nowhere. I felt like an IDIOT for saying that (because who cares about delivering babies, especially if you’re a 19 year old boy??) until he messaged me that night…

message

Of course I read the message at 3am when it came up on my screen, but I had to do the whole “Make him wait” thing that everybody talks about because I had no idea what I was doing. I decided that 11:15 was a good time to respond and when the time rolled around, I did just that.

Sooo a week later, he asked me on a date and I said yes. I put on jean shorts, a white flowy tank top, a dark green jacket, and brown wedges. Homeboy shows up in jeans, a t shirt he’s probably had for his whole entire life, and work boots. And bits of hay stuck to his forehead from working on his farm all day.

Hmph. Time I felt like an idiot #2.

We went on a date to a local Mexican restaurant and grabbed some frozen yogurt after. When he dropped me back off at my house, we immediately made plans to hang out the next day.

That week, I also met his dad and one of his brothers. I was SO nervous. We went to a Japanese restaurant. I wore a orange and white dress with flats and my hair was half-up, half-down.

I had mentioned graduation to him, which was a week after we went on our date, but didn’t really think he would show – not because I thought he was an asshole, but because we had JUST started hanging out.

Well, ya’ll, he came. And it made my whole entire day. He met my whole family, took pictures with all of us, and was really perfect. After graduation, he took me to a Turkish restaurant and, when we told the waitress we hadn’t had Turkish food before, she let us try EVERYTHING! We sat in our own booth lined with beautiful tapestries and jewels for more than two hours. We talked about everything. I felt like I had known him for forever, and I think he felt like that too.

We went to the beach a week later, and I told him that I liked him. Lame, I know, but I wanted him to know that the days I had been with him before the beach trip were some of the best days I’ve ever had.

Next, it was June 26 and I was getting dropped off at UNC Asheville for freshman orientation. I was TERRIFIED. I was already nervous about the school and whether or not it would be a good fit for me, and I didn’t know anyone. All I knew was that S was picking me up from orientation for a weekend in Boone, and that’s all I could think about.

Finally, it was June 27, and I was relieved to see his face and hear his voice, even after a day. We started the drive to Boone, but I was nervous, because I felt like something was off. He seemed nervous, but I didn’t really get why. On June 28, he took me on a hike off of the Blue Ridge parkway. It was horrible hiking weather – foggy, rainy, and humid – but we made it work.

IMG_0358

And that, my friends, is when he asked me to be his girlfriend. I’ve always thought it was sorta weird that you had to talk about making it official, but it meant so much to me that he planned this whole day, just for us!!

IMG_1540In July, I went to Canada for a week. What was only 9 days felt like 9 years, and even though Peace Camp was one of the best experiences of my life, I missed my guy terribly. I turned 18 while we were in Ontario, and even from miles away, S didn’t disappoint. He made sure I heard him sing Happy Birthday, even if it was over Skype with a choppy signal. His hair was crazy long and my heart was crazy full, because I had finally found someone I could call my best friend.

Over the next six months, we navigated long distance as best as we could. With him at a school almost 3 hours away from UNCA, we counted on weekends to see each other and hang out. Although we tried to keep the driving even, I usually made the trip to his place since he was always slammed with homework and there wasn’t a lot of space in my dorm room. Long distance was HARD. I was worried a lot. So was he. I never doubted him and never doubted my trust in him for 2 seconds, but I worried that he would sorta forget about me since we weren’t at the same school. I never took the weekends for granted, and every Monday, my countdown in my head until the next time would start over. Over these 6 months, we went on a ton of trips and had SO much fun together.

A week at the beach with my family

His first week in his new house with friends – and my first trip to what would become our go-to pizza place.

His first trip to UNCA

…and his first trip to White Duck

Us on top of Mt. Mitchell

november

Celebrating his brother’s birthday at a local Greek restaurant

november2

…I went duck hunting. I still can’t believe it.

december

His dogs had a litter, and I soaked up all of the puppy love I could get.

In December, I made the decision to leave UNCA and go to another school closer to my family and friends. At first, we were both nervous. We were so used to having a week or two at a time apart, and we didn’t know how this transition was going to turn out. We spent New Years Eve in Boone with his family, and I mean it when I say that New Years Eve was one of the BEST nights I’ve had in a while.

january

After switching schools, I am confident that I made the right decision. Although our relationship fluctuated along the way, I am so freakin’ glad that I date this dork. And now…here were are. 8 months later and S remains to be the best thing that’s ever happened to me. Cheesy, yes, but true. I have no idea how I would’ve survived last year without his love and support.

He loves architecture, driving his fast car, How to Train Your Dragon, FIFA, going to the gym, his family, and collecting watches.

Together, we love pizza, bluegrass music, roadtrips, the mountains, lots and lots of pillows, ranch dressing, chinese food, and FourFive Seconds.

S, if you’re reading this, don’t kill me, but you have my heart.

Screen Shot 2014-12-21 at 12.54.12 PM

Leave a Reply

